Skip to main content

Research news

Grants Awarded (commencing 2016)

Investigators: Dr Connie Jackaman Dr Danielle Dye and Dr Hannah Crabb,

Project title: Reprogramming macrophage function in the elderly to rescue impaired inflammatory responses to muscle injury

Grant: NHMRC New Investigator grant

Amount: $410,983


Investigators: A/Prof Giuseppe Verdile, Prof Ralph Martins (ECU), Prof Paul Fraser (University of Toronto), and Prof Philip Newsholme

Project title: Investigating underlying mechanisms linking Type 2 diabetes with Alzheimer’s disease pathology

Grant: NHMRC – Standard Project grant

Amount: $701,950


Investigator: Dr Prashant Bharadwaj, currently working in the Lab of Prof Philip Newsholme

Project title: Neuroprotective functions of autophagy regulators in Alzheimer’s disease

Grant: NHMRC-ARC Dementia Research Development Fellowship grant

Amount: $434,644 (to be administered through ECU)


Investigator: A/Prof Cyril Mamotte and Prof Philip Newsholme

Project title: Modulation of pancreatic ß cell function with alanyl-glutamine including potentiation of sulfonylurea action and protection from lipo-toxicity

Grant: Diabetes Australia

Amount: $59,266


Research Awards

A/Prof Giuseppe Verdile was awarded Faculty Researcher of the year for 2015. Giuseppe was recognised for his outstanding research performance in the past two years.


Congratulations to Gary Whittaker on being awarded his PhD in January 2016.