Skip to main content

Top Performers Celebrated at Excellence Awards

Curtin and WAIT alumni were honoured at the WA Excellence Awards, hosted by peak pharmacist organization, the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA), on Sunday March 13 2016.

Curtin graduate, Joseph Foster, who completed his internship at Brooks Garden Chemmart Pharmacy in Albany, was recognised with the PSA MIMS Western Australian Intern of the Year Award.

The award acknowledges the achievements of exceptional pharmacist interns in developing skills for their professional career. Interns are recognised for striving to raise standards to provide a future model for the practice of pharmacy, before being fully registered.

PSA WA Branch President, Teresa Di Franco, who presented the award, applauded the achievements of the Intern of the Year WA winner, saying Mr Foster demonstrated an outstanding commitment to pharmacy.

“Mr Foster identified an opportunity to improve the effectiveness of communication and referral processes between pharmacists, patients and other health professionals. This drove him to build a business plan and develop a website to improve the referral channel between a pharmacist and a doctor, as well as other health professionals,” Ms Di Franco said.

Ms Di Franco was also in line for an award from the PSA, winning WA Young Pharmacist of the Year. Ms Di Franco, who completed her Graduate Certificate in Diabetes at Curtin, has combined her pharmacy experience, particularly in medication management and patient care, with her experience as a Credentialed Diabetes Educator to become a passionate advocate for patient care and leader for her profession.

The PSA also presented Noel Fosbery, a WAIT graduate, with the WA Pharmacist of the Year award. Mr Fosbery’s primary focus in the delivery of high quality pharmacy services is the health and wellbeing of his community. As the proprietor of two community pharmacies, he has established clinical services to ensure his pharmacies are considered health destinations.

Jefferey Leach, who completed his Bachelor of Pharmacy at Curtin, was honoured with the WA Life Time Achievement Award. Mr Leach has worked tirelessly to promote the pharmacy profession and has focused on the continual innovation required to keep pharmacy at the cutting edge.

Mr Leach and Mr Fosbery are business partners.

The PSA WA Branch Vice President Russell Hill said the WA Excellence Awards celebrated the best and brightest in the State.

“The quality of candidates for the WA Excellence Awards was exceptional this year and judges remarked on just how difficult their task was,” Mr Hill said.