Skip to main content

Curtin University appoints new Head of Pharmacy

Posted: 8 April 2014

Curtin University has appointed Dr Kevin Batty as the new Head of the School of Pharmacy.

Dr Kevin BattyDr Batty was educated at Churchlands Senior High School and completed his Bachelor of Pharmacy degree at the Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT) (now Curtin University).

He worked in hospital pharmacy for 10 years, including six years as a Senior Pharmacist at Fremantle Hospital, where he was responsible for the establishment of a cancer chemotherapy preparation service in the pharmacy department.

In 1989, Dr Batty was awarded a Rotary Foundation Scholarship to study a master degree at The University of Manchester. He subsequently received a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) scholarship to complete his doctoral research in antimalarial pharmacology at The University of Western Australia and was awarded his PhD with distinction in 2000.

In October 2012, Dr Batty was appointed as the inaugural Director of Higher Education at West Coast Institute of Training. In 2013 he was awarded the prestigious Pharmaceutical Society of Western Australia’s Eric Kirk Memorial Award, for his outstanding contribution to the development of pharmacy practice in Western Australia.

Dr Batty’s research interests include pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics and antimalarial pharmacology. His current research projects include the quantitative analysis of drugs in dried blood spots for clinical pharmacokinetic studies.

Curtin’s Pro Vice-Chancellor of Health Sciences, Professor Michael Berndt, welcomed Professor Batty’s appointment.

“Kevin has an extensive, successful history with Curtin University and we are glad to be welcoming him back to this senior leadership position,” Professor Berndt said.

“He is an exceptional researcher and I know he will do a fantastic job in continuing to lead the School of Pharmacy from strength to strength.

“I’d also like to congratulate the outgoing Head of School, Professor Jeff Hughes, for his excellent contribution over the past five years.”

Dr Batty will commence in the five-year leadership position on Monday 19 May 2014. He will be the sixth Head of the School of Pharmacy since WAIT was established in 1967.