Skip to main content

Pharmacy students recognised for academic excellence

Posted: 14 May 2014

School of Pharmacy students were recently recognised for their outstanding academic achievement at the annual prize-giving ceremony held on Tuesday 25 March at Curtin’s Bentley Campus.

This year’s event recognised 12 exceptional pharmacy students, with the top award, the Alan McWhinney Memorial Prize being awarded to Huey Miin Cheah for achieving the best aggregate mark over all four years of the Bachelor of Pharmacy degree.

Jake Robinson was awarded the Pharmaceutical Society of WA’s Webster Gold Medal. The accolade recognises exceptional academic performance in the third and fourth years of the Bachelor or Pharmacy degree.

Head of the School, Professor Jeff Hughes said the students had all worked extremely hard and it was an honour to present them with their award.

“All of our winners have proved themselves to be high achievers. We’re very proud of their academic success,” Professor Hughes said.

Amongst those receiving prizes for outstanding performance this year were:

First year awards

Pharmaceutical Chemistry – Harrison Clarke
Pharmaceutics – Gabrielle Steadman
Best Aggregate Mark – Yu Seng Huong

Second year awards

Pharmaceutics – Golnaz Foroomadi
Immunology/Chemotherapy – Nicole Kirou
Pharmaceutical Practice – Stephanie Higham
Pharmacy Primary Care – Huei Ti Soh
Biochemistry/ Pharmacology – Huei Ti Soh
Pharmaceuitcal Analysis/Toxicology – Huei Ti Soh
Best Aggregate Mark – Huei Ti Soh

Third year awards

Pharmaceutics – Bianca Vincent
Pharmaceutical Practice – Michaela Huston
Systems Pharmacology – Ellen Bwye
Evidence Based Complementary Medicine – Ayaan Abdullahi
Pharmacotherapy – Felicia Lim
Medicinal Chemistry – Felicia Lim
Best Aggregate Mark – Felicia Lim

Fourth year awards

Pharmacotherapy – Rachel Holmes
Pharmaceutical Practice – Ashleigh Lawrence
Pharmacy Placements – Jake Robinson
Best Aggregate Mark – Frances Hart

Degree awards

Webster Gold Medal – Jake Robinson
Alan McWhinney Memorial Award – Huey Miin Cheah

Master of Pharmacy awards

Best aggregate mark first year – Benjamin Muletta
Best aggregate mark second year – Shelly Liddelow