Skip to main content

OT Pioneer Visits Curtin

The School of Occupational Therapy and Social Work recently welcomed a pioneer of occupational therapy in WA, Ms Freda Jacobs, to Curtin.

Ms Jacobs was a member of the Occupational Therapy School Board, which assisted with the formation of the first School of Occupational Therapy in Western Australia, now the Curtin school.

Associate Professor, Marina Ciccarelli, Freda Jacobs, Courtenay Harris, Barbara Berthold and Angus Buchanan.
Associate Professor Marina Ciccarelli, Ms Freda Jacobs, Senior Lecturer Courtenay Harris, Barbara Berthold and Head of School Angus Buchanan.

Ms Jacobs was also involved in the establishment of the Registration Act for Occupational Therapists, which ensured that every occupational therapist in Western Australia was registered and appropriately qualified. At an international level, Ms Jacobs was the first Western Australian member of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists.

In 1978, Ms Jacobs founded the Independent Living Centre of Western Australia, and in 1981 she was the first occupational therapist in Western Australia to be awarded the Order of Australia (AM).

Ms Jacob’s visit included viewing the lecture theatre in building 108, which was named in her honour in 2011, meeting students and having morning tea with staff.

Lecturer, Ben Milbourn, Sally Hunter, Freda Jacobs, Claire Morisby.
Lecturer Ben Milbourn, Clinical/ Professional Fellow Sally Hunter, Ms Freda Jacobs and Clinical/Professional Fellow Claire Morrisby.