Skip to main content

2016 Alumni Achievement Awards

Three Faculty of Health Sciences graduates were honoured at the recent 2016 Alumni Achievement Awards. The awards recognise Curtin graduates who have achieved excellence, making significant contributions to their chosen fields and to local, national and international communities.

Mr Nicholas Maisey, Professor Lorna Rosenwax, Ms Freda Jacob, Ms Ruth Jodrell and Ms Louise Cole.
Mr Nicholas Maisey, Professor Lorna Rosenwax, Ms Freda Jacob, Ms Ruth Jodrell and Ms Louise Cole.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Ms Freda Jacob AM Graduate Diploma Health Sciences, 1981

Freda Jacob helped set the standards for the occupational therapy profession in WA, leaving a monumental legacy. She was a member of the first Occupational Therapy School Board in 1960 and founded the Independent Living Centre in 1977, which continues to provide information and advice, assessment, training and hire services to enable Western Australians of all ages and abilities to live more independent and fulfilling lives. She was also the first WA member of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists.

Ms Jacob has already been heavily recognised for her contributions to her profession, having been awarded the 2012 Freda Jacob Award (named in her honour) from Occupational Therapy Australia, and inducted in the 2012 WA Women’s Hall of Fame. She was also the first occupational therapist in WA to be awarded the Order of Australia (AM) for service to the disabled, which she received in 1981.

Young Alumnus Award winner, Nick Maisey, with Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Freda Jacob.
Young Alumnus Award winner, Mr Nick Maisey, with Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Ms Freda Jacob.

Professional Achievement Award

Mr Noel Fosbery Bachelor of Pharmacy, 1981

Noel Fosbery, a dedicated pharmacist and owner of Friendlies Pharmacy in High Wycombe and Falcon, works hard to ensure that his community receives high-quality pharmacy services. Since graduating from Curtin in 1981 with a Bachelor of Pharmacy, he has been instrumental in developing innovative solutions to ensure access of opioid maintenance therapy and providing an easy-to-use solution for pharmacists across Australia.

Mr Fosbery is the developer and director behind EasyDose Dispensing Solutions and was recently awarded the 2016 Pharmaceutical Society WA Pharmacist of the Year. He was also a finalist in the Guild Pharmacy of the Year Award for 2015.

Young Alumnus Award

Mr Nicholas Maisey Bachelor of Science, Occupational Therapy, 2010

Befriend Inc, founded by Nicholas Maisey, is a Perth-based social enterprise with a vision of creating an inclusive, connected world. His organisation has encouraged a strong community of 4,500 people to break down social barriers and form new friendships at events such as arts and crafts activities, barbeques, outdoor adventures and quiz nights. In 2014, Befriend won the Act- Belong-Commit Partner Organisation Award.

Mr Maisey’s passion and interest in social inclusion, enterprise and community development was recognised when he was named a finalist for the 2016 West Australian of the Year Youth Award and the 2016 WA Volunteer of the Year Award.