Skip to main content

Faculty Research Awards shine spotlight on excellence

The Faculty Research Awards is an annual award program that recognises our researchers who have had impressive achievements in their field leading to research excellence.

The annual award program recognises research excellence.
The annual award program recognises research excellence.

This year, we received 11 nominations in the Researcher of the Year category, and 8 in the category for Early Career Researchers. All nominations were of a high standard and our judging panel had the hard task of identifying the winners.

On behalf of the faculty, it is with great pleasure that I proudly announce the 2016 Faculty Research Awards winners:

Lifetime Achievement – Professor Garry Allison, Office of Research and Development (prize received by Professor Jaya Dantas, Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor Health Services).

Researcher of the Year – Professor Peter O’Sullivan, School of Physiotherapy and Exercise Science.

Early Career Researcher of the YearAssociate Professor Richard Norman, School of Public Health.

The award presentations were held in conjunction with a highly appreciated public lecture by Professor Christopher Reid, ‘Does an aspirin a day keep the doctor away?’, on 30 November, which was well attended.

I take this opportunity to thank Professor Lorna Roxenwax for presenting the awards, and Professor Reid for the support of this event, and once again congratulate the winners of the awards and wish them all the best in their future research endeavours.

Written by Professor Torbjorn Falkmer

Dean of Research
Faculty of Health Sciences