Indigenous engagement

The Indigenous Engagement team provides a culturally secure learning environment for Indigenous students in the Faculty of Health Sciences.  We support students to grow and develop skills and knowledge, determine their own learning needs, and graduate with a strong sense of cultural and professional identity. 

The Faculty would like to pay our respects to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members of our community by acknowledging the Wadjuk people of the land on which Bentley Campus is located, and the Wongutha people of the North-Eastern Goldfields, where our Kalgoorlie Campus is located. 

Sample of Aboriginal artwork in Curtin's Centre for Aboriginal Studies building

Student Support

The Indigenous Engagement team supports you with:

  • navigating the transition to university
  • accessing academic support and guidance
  • connecting with the Koorda Network.

Koorda Network

The Koorda Network comprises staff across the Faculty who have completed cultural security training workshops. These staff members include deputy heads of school and course coordinators who identify as Indigenous allies and can provide you with career guidance and additional support at the School level.

Nursing, Midwifery and Paramedicine

Pam Nichols (Lecturer)

Email: p.nichols@curtin.edu.au

Phone: +61 8 9266 2739

Location: Building 405 Room 421

Occupational Therapy, Social Work and Speech Pathology

Courtenay Harris (Deputy Head of School)

Email: c.harris@curtin.edu.au

Phone: +61 8 9266 3683

Location: Building 401 Room 234

Mary Claessen (Senior Lecturer)

Email: m.claessen@curtin.edu.au

Phone: +61 8 9266 3472

Location: Building 401 Room 349

Tina (Christina) Fernandes (Senior Lecture)

Email: c.fernandes@curtin.edu.au 

Phone: +61 8 9266 7330

Location: Building 401 Room 228

Antonia Hendrick (Lecturer)

Email: a.hendrick@curtin.edu.au

Phone: +61 8 9266 2597

Location: Building 401 Room 374b

 

Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences

Magdy Elnashar (Senior Lecturer)

Email: magdy.elnashar@curtin.edu.au 

Phone: NA

Location: Building 308 Room 209B

 

Physiotherapy and Exercise Therapy

Sharon Parry (Clinical Programs Coordinator)

Email: Sharon.parry@curtin.edu.au 

Phone: +61 8 9266 3667

Location: Building 408 Room 3512

Psychology

Emily Castell (Senior Lecturer)

Email: emily.castell@curtin.edu.au

Phone: +61 8 9266 7633

Location: Building 401 Room 311

School of Public Health

Linda Portsmouth (Senior Lecturer)

Email: l.portsmouth@curtin.edu.au 

Phone: +61 8 9266 4404

Location: Building 400 Room 453

Maria Chanmugam (Sessional Academic)

Email: maria.chanmugam@curtin.edu.au 

Phone: +61 8 9266 7382

Location: Building 400 Room 470

Professional Networks

In order to address Close the Gap targets we need to build an Indigenous health workforce. We encourage our students to join one of the many professional Indigenous health networks. You can contact the Indigenous Engagement team to learn more about the organisations and the benefits of joining.

Associations include:

Admission pathways

There is more than one way to qualify for Curtin courses. Find out more about our different pathway options:

Research

The Indigenous Engagement team participates in and leads research activities that also create opportunities for local Aboriginal community groups to be involved in.  Most recently, the Balang Djuripin project was a 2018 Curtin Innovations grant which enabled the Koorda Network to be established.

Curtin is proud to be widely recognised for its achievements in applied research and has a number of research focus areas in solving real-world problems.  Some of these include:

Want to find out more?

Get in touch with our Indigenous Engagement team who can support you:

Cheryl Davis, Director of Indigenous Engagement (Health Sciences)

Phone: +61 8 9266 4282
Email: Cheryl.Davis@curtin.edu.au

Kristy Indich, Indigenous Engagement Officer (Health Sciences)

Phone: +61 8 9266 2321
Email: kristy.indich@curtin.edu.au

Colin Phillips, Indigenous Engagement Officer (Health Sciences)

Phone: +61 8 9266 1009
Email: colin.phillips1@curtin.edu.au